Thursday, December 20, 2007

Another Helmet Camera Video

Jim Gentes, who provided a helmet camera video from Thursday's 40+ Men's B race, is back with a video from the Masters Men 50+ race on Saturday. Click here for the start and Part I. Click here for Part II and the finish.

Wednesday, December 19, 2007

Video Emerges Of Ryan Trebon's Crash

Defending national Men's Elite champion Ryan Trebon was knocked out of this year's race when another rider crossed over the course into his path.

A bystander caught the violent collision on tape:

Sunday, December 16, 2007

We'll See You Next Year

Thank you for attending and/or following the action at the USA Cycling Cyclocross National Championships in Kansas City.

Help spread the word about the 2008 event. Mark your calendar for Dec. 11-14. We'll see you next year.

Day Four Race Report Now Posted

On the fourth and final day of the 2007 Cyclocross Nationals in Kansas City, the sun came out and seven new national champions were crowned.

Read all about it on the official event website.

Post-Race Party Tonight at Dave And Buster's

Registered athletes and KCCX staff and volunteers are welcome to attend tonight's post-race party at Dave and Buster's, 1843 Village West Parkway in The Legend's shopping village.

D&B game cards, worth $5, were distributed in competitor gift bags that were given out at packet pick-up.

Johnson Wins Again In Kansas City

Tim Johnson attacked Jonathan Page on the second-to-last time up the hill to the finish line and never relinquished the lead on the way to winning the Men's Elite title at the USA Cycling National Cyclocross Championships Sunday at Wyandotte County Park.

Johnson, this year's USGP series runner-up, threw his bike into the muddy ditch after the finish line and let out a big yell as the crowd cheered him on.

When the national cyclocross championships were last in Kansas City in 2000, Johnson was the winner.

Local favorite Steve Tilford of Topeka, Kan., double-flatted two times during the race.

Click here for official race results.

Men's Elite Turning Into Three-Man Race

Jonathan Page, Todd Wells and Tim Johnson are duking it out with five laps to go in the Men's Elite race at the USA Cycling National Cyclocross Championships.

The trio has distanced themselves from the field - and defending champion Ryan Trebon is out of the race, having crashed into another rider with six laps to go.

Jason Lowetz, is proving to be a popular rider back in the field. The Glendale, Calif., resident has taped one dollar bills all over his jersey, perhaps inviting the crowd to "reach out" to him.

Click here to all the action with live play-by-play on

Compton Makes It Four Straight

Katie Compton (Spike) of Colorado Springs, Colo., made it four straight Women's Elite national championship titles Sunday. Rachel Lloyd (ProMan) was second and Georgia Gould (Luna) was third.

Compton was the silver medalist at the 2007 UCI Cyclocross World Championships last January. The 29-year-old is currently the No. 2-ranked female cyclocross racer in the world, according to the latest UCI ratings.

The men's race will get underway at a little after 1 p.m.

Women's Elite Race Is Underway

A huge crowd packed the barriers near the finish line for the call-ups prior to the Women's Elite race.

Three-time defending national champion Katie Compton was the first of eight riders called up. She coasted down the hill to the starting grid moments before Bonner Springs Mayor Clausie Smith thanked the crowd for coming to Kansas and apologized for the snow and cold. is providing live play-by-play of the race. Click here to follow the action.

The 'Real' Masters Champions

Salt Lake City's Lewis Rollins won the Masters 60-64 men's race Sunday and Lee Wilmore of Seal Beach, Calif., was the Masters 65-69 champion and Walt Axthelm of Durango, Colo., took home the stars-and-stripes jersey in the Masters 70+ division.

A total of 12 racers contested the two-lap race, which featured all three categories.

They enjoyed warming temperatures (23 degrees) and sunny skies. With the warm-up, the course was beginning to show more signs of mud.

Driscoll Wins Collegiate Men's Race

Jamey Driscoll of the University of Vermont cruised to the Collegiate Men's national cyclocross title.

One of the top contenders, Joey Thompson of Fort Lewis College, flatted twice and finished second.

Driscoll Leads Collegiate Men's Race

Jamey Driscoll (Fiordifrutta) won't be sprinting it out at the finish line of today's Collegiate Men's race.

With two laps to go, Driscoll - riding for the University of Vermont - is well on his way to a decisive win in the race that features more than 140 competitors.

You Can't Miss This Guy

You won't have much trouble spotting Stephen Williamson making his way around the Wyandotte County Park course.

He's the one wearing more than two dozen cowbells all over his coveralls.

Williamson, a Zimbabwe native who lives in Albuquerque, N.M., is the coach of the Nob Hill Velo junior team.

"I've been collecting cowbells since our junior camp in 2000," Williamson said. "I decided in Rhode Island a couple years ago to put 'em all on at once."

Kacey Manderfield Wins For Lees-McRae

Kacey Manderfield of Lees-McRae College won the Collegiate Women's race, then stayed and cheered on her remaining teammates as they rolled through the finish line.

The Banner Elk, N.C., resident won the three-lap race on a course that is still hard-frozen and rutty. The Chamois Butt'r Way - site of two artificial barriers on Thursday and Friday - was deemed too dangerous again on Sunday morning to include the six-inch wooden obstacles.

Collegiate Women's Race Starts With Pile-Up

If you were racing in the Collegiate Women's race, chances are you hit the deck on the first turn.

Only about the first 15 riders made it through the right-hander that's about 30 meters after the finish line before rider after rider piled up in a crash.

There are 51 riders registered for this race.